The Griffin Inn was established on this site in 1730 with the present buildings that make up the pub being built over the next 100 years. There is also archaeological evidence that the site was in use before the 1600s and is probably the Inn on the Bristol Road described in late medieval accounts.
The name refers to the griffin sitting on the Lansdown Monument, commemorating the Cornish Royalist hero, Sir Bevil Grenville, who died at the Battle of Lansdown on 5th July 1643.
The earliest documentary evidence is of a license granted to William Pomeroy “To keep a common Inn and Alehouse” for the consideration of £10 in December 1776.
At nearly 300 years old, the Griffin is unique and charming with a relaxed & cosy atmosphere.